Overcome The iPhone That is Always Tracking Your Location - indephedia.com

Header Ads

Overcome The iPhone That is Always Tracking Your Location



INDEPHEDIA.com - It's good to know that there are features that are not so well known on the iPhone that always keeps a history of the places you've visited, including how many times that one place you've visited.

Significant Locations or significant locations can be found in the mobile settings. But, to find out it is rather difficult to find. This is whether there is a specific purpose or not from the maker, Apple, no one knows. In fact, this feature stores more detailed information.

iPhone compiles locations for one address and tracking when you go from there and even how long to get there and which mode of transportation.

According to Apple, the list is kept "to learn places that are important to you". "This data is encrypted and stored only on your device and will not be shared without your consent," Apple said on its website.

"This is used to provide you with personalized services, such as predictive traffic routing, and to build better Photo Memeries."

Apple is not alone in tracking the amount of location data like this, Google also does it through a list of "Location History" which can be found in your Google account. As reported by Scient Alert, to disable the location tracking feature on the iPhone there is actually a way.

The first step, you open the Settings application and click the Privacy tab. Then, click on the first option, "Location Services". Underneath, you will find a list of each application on your iPhone and the type of access each has to your location data. But, just ignore this one.

From there you can scroll to the bottom of the page and find "System Services". Next, you will find a full list of Apple's built-in services (which are included on the device) that give access to your location data.

Some of these options require your location for daily use, such as "Find My iPhone" and location sharing. But at the bottom of this list, there is a tab called "Significant Locations" that requires your password (or fingerprint, or Face ID) to access it.

After successfully logging in, you will find a comprehensive history of where your iPhone is. This list is sorted by city and below it there is more specific info: the address of the places you have visited, how many times you have been there, the specific date (and time) you were there, and how much time you spent there.

Before you turn off this feature altogether, don't forget to delete the history stored on your cellphone. The "Clear History" option is at the bottom of the list.

The last step, you can disable the "Significant Location" feature at the top of the page. Apple might still have access to a large amount of your data, but at least you have limited it to more detailed data about your whereabouts. Good luck! (SBB.IN/ENG/*)

No comments