Continental Territories and Their Divisions -
In this world there are 7 continents, each continent of Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe and Australia.

From the order of the continents above, the continent of Asia is the largest in the world, followed by the continent of Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe and the smallest continent of Australia.

Apart from being based on area, continents are also divided into regions, each of which is called Supercontinent, Subcontinent, Sinking Continent and Microcontinent.

Supercontinents are very large continents that have existed in the past, which include some or all of the existing cratons today. Examples of supercontinents, such as Gondwana and Pangea.

Gondwana or Gondwanaland is a supercontinent that existed during the Neoproterozoic era about 550 million years ago to the Jurassic period about 180 million years ago.

Meanwhile, Pangea or Pangea also called Pangeae was a supercontinent that existed during the late Paleozoic and early Mesozoic eras.

The supercontinent Pangea formed about 300 million years ago and began to fracture about 200 million years ago, before the continental components separated into their current configurations.

Subcontinents are areas of existing continents, especially large peninsulas separated from the mainland by reasons of geographic shape.

The most famous examples of subcontinents are the Indian subcontinent and the Arabian Peninsula, the Southern Cone in South America and the Alaska Peninsula in North America.

The Sinking Continent is an area of the continental crust where a large part of it is submerged under sea water.

The most famous examples of Sinking Continents are Zealand which is located around the ocean area of New Caledonia, New Zealand and the Kerguelen Plateau which is located in the Indian Ocean.

Microcontinents are a number of islands located in a part of the continental crust that is separated from the mainland of the main continent. However, due to its very small size it is not considered a continent.

Examples of Micro Continents, including Madagascar, East Tasman, Jan Mayen, Mauritia and Gulden Draak. (*)

Buka Komentar
Tutup Komentar
No comments:
Write comment

Siapapun boleh berkomentar, tetapi secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Biasakan berkomentar dengan nama yang jelas. Berkomentar dengan UNKNOWN atau SPAM akan dihapus. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab individu komentator seperti yang diatur dalam UU ITE (Undang-Undang Informasi dan Transaksi Elektronik) maupun perundang-undangan yang berlaku.

Back to Top